Reviews

Reviews

Torchwood – Aliens Among Us, Part 2

Tony’s getting a classic Torchwood vibe.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – The Dying Room

By Tony J Fyler


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood – Aliens Among Us, Part 1

Tony holds up a sign saying ‘Aliens Welcome Here.’


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood Corpse Day EO

Tony’s spending the year dead for tax reasons.

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood The Dollhouse

By Tony J Fyler

This is not the Torchwood you’re looking for.


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood – Visiting Hours

Tony’s in for more than a routine procedure.



~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood #3

Tony’s head’s spinning – just a little.

‘This is the part where you explain what I’m actually doing here, by the way.’

~~~~~

Reviews

They Keep Killing Suzie

Tony kills Suzie. Everyone else seems to be doing it.

~~~~~

Reviews

Random Shoes

Tony looks at his shoes.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Greeks Bearing Gifts

Tony’s just popping to the gift shop.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood Outbreak


Tony’s breaking out all over.


~~~~~

Reviews

Small Worlds


Tony’s away with the fairies.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood #2

Tony stands around a bit, looking moody.

~~~~~

Reviews

The Torchwood Archive

Tony’s lost in the library.




~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Made You Look

Tony’s hearing voices again


 ‘Oh great – stalked by a bashful Christopher Lee.’


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood #1

Tony gets his swagger on: 
Torchwood’s back in the hands of the Barrowman’s.


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood #2.5 – Broken

Tony’s broken after listening to the latest Torchwood audio.


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood: Moving Target

Tony Fyler takes aim.

‘I’m the target?’
‘Obviously.’
‘Why?!’
‘Why not?’
‘I haven’t done anything!’
‘No, but I’m sure you’ll be terrifically entertaining soon enough.’


~~~~~
Reviews


Children of Earth 

By DJ Forrest



~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Zone 10

Tony packs his Ugg boots.


~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood – The Victorian Age


Tony yearns for some eminent Victorians.

~~~~~

Reviews
Torchwood Novel:

Long Time Dead

By DJ Forrest

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood: More Than This

‘Mr Pugh, does that look even vaguely like a toy spider? No? Then put it back – gently. I don’t want to blow the arse off my car.’ Gwen Cooper

Tony ponders the infinite and the insignificant.

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood 1.5 – Uncanny Valley

Tony’s fairly sure he lives in an uncanny valley




~~~~~



Torchwood: Forgotten Lives









The Conspiracy




Reviews


Torchwood Audio Reviews:

Fall To Earth




~~~~~
Reviews 


Big Finish

Torchwood: The Conspiracy

By DJ Forrest


~~~~~
Reviews


Fragments

Tony Fyler goes back in time.


~~~~~
Reviews


TW Review: Adrift

By Tony J Fyler




~~~~~
Reviews


From Out of the Rain Review


Everyone’s a critic, says Tony Fyler.




~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood Review

Something Borrowed

By


DJ Forrest


~~~~~
Reviews



The Sin Eaters

By Brian Minchin


Read by Gareth David-Lloyd
Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN: 978-1-408-42621-0


~~~~~
Reviews



Up On The Roof

By DJ Forrest

‘When this old world starts getting me down
And people are just too much for me to face
I climb way up to the top of the stairs
And all my cares just drift right into space
On the roof, it's peaceful as can be
And there the world below can't bother me.’ -
James Taylor


~~~~~
Reviews


Dead Man Walking Review

By DJ Forrest





~~~~~
Reviews


Risk Assessment by James Goss

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN 978-1-846-07783-8

‘The Evening of a Long Day, in which the events of last night recounted, the seventh seal is broken, and our heroes encounter something quite remarkable.’




~~~~~
Reviews


Episode Reviews: To The Last Man
By DJ Forrest

Written by Helen Raynor
Directed by Andy Goddard
Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Broadcast 30th January 2008


~~~~~
Reviews


Trace Memory by David Llewellyn

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN: 978-1-846-07438-7
Published by BBC Books 2008




~~~~~

Reviews


“End of Days”
Review
By Patsy Newton-Carline

In 'Captain Jack Harkness' we visited the Ritz Palais de Danse - neither in 1941 or in the 'now' was it ever a dance hall - the Ritz has too much style and class!
Then we discovered the real 'Captain Jack Harkness', having a drink with his team and who else - our Jack, who has been here before and knows that by tomorrow night, the real Jack will be dead!
I found the relationship between the 2 Jacks to be both moving and enlightening - the real Jack finally acknowledging his sexuality, having found someone who understands, our Jack - they share, very publicly 



~~~~~

Reviews



Dancing At The Ritz with Captain Jack.
‘Captain Jack Harkness’ Episode Review
By Patsy Newton-Carline

The episode ' Captain Jack Harkness ' is one of my favourites - the revealing of more fascinating facts of the life of Captain Jack is always popular but to discover the real Captain Jack and in the romantic setting of the Ritz 'Palais de Danse' during the 1941 Cardiff blitz, with Jack and Tosh trapped on the wrong side of the rift, has all the ingredients of true drama - add to that Owen and Ianto battling over the right or wrong of trying to reopen the rift, given that Owen is thinking with his heart, (or possibly his trousers), and you just know this dish will turn into a right royal banquet!


~~~~~

Reviews


File 1: Black Water

Writer Steven Savile 
Torchwood
The Official Magazine Yearbook
Published by Titan Books
ISBN 9781845769369
First Edition August 2008
Reviewed by DJ Forrest

‘When a mysterious ship approaches Cardiff Bay, yet appears not to exist at all, the team are called to investigate...’



~~~~~

Reviews



Something in the Water
By Trevor Baxendale

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Published by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07437-0


GP Bob Strong would be late for his own funeral; he was late for everything else in his life!  He was meant to be meeting Nurse Carrick on a date but never made it due to a flat tyre.  Today as usual he was late for work at Trynsel surgery, and to cap it all, his first morning appointment was with Saskia Harden!


~~~~~

Reviews



Torchwood: The Dead Line


by Phil Ford
Produced by BBC Audiobooks Ltd.
BBC Audio Published: 6 August 2009
Reviewed by Echo Fain


Apropos of the alien threat involved, this audio drama begins with a ringing phone.

Let's face it, Phil Ford is one of the best at what he does.  He tells a story that moves quick and without effort, mixing humor and drama with human sentiment in his own way.  The Dead Line could be considered formulaic with a script that uses two basic points of view to unpack its plot through two-voice scenes, but the formula is seamlessly used here to tell a story that would have been very exciting on the TV screen.


~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood: SkyPoint


by Phil Ford
BBC Books, 2008.
ISBN: 978-1-846-07575-9
Reviewed by Echo Fain


Like replacing Cooper with Williams, the disappearances at SkyPoint don't sound kosher. 

Slotting nicely into the space behind the second series' episode, 'Something Borrowed', this story delves into the shady world of dirty money, untouchable criminals, urban growth, and aliens.  SkyPoint is fast paced, moving smoothly from scene to scene in a way that hints at the screen-writing skills of its author.  It never loses its pace and shows us poignant hints of deeper stories in the background of each member of the Torchwood Cardiff team.


~~~~~

Reviews

Fanvideo Review



Hello. I'm Doctor Owen Harper and---put that down, it's volatile. I don't know what it'll do to human skin but you should see what it did to the Weevil's. Jack thinks we might be able to weaponize it---you know, lessen the affect so that it becomes a warning shot instead of lethal.

So, you saw what happened with Suzie, I take it.  Yeah, that was as much fun as you can have around here.  Bringing back the dead.  Never a good idea. 

It's time to do fanvideo reviews again. 

But, let me explain the process first.  In case you're just now joining us.


~~~~~


Reviews



You, Me and Them
By Caroline Warboys - @CazieW

Features Eve Myles, Anthony Head, Jeff Rawle, Lindsay Duncan, Susie Blake, Daisy Beaumont, Marcus Garvey, Nigel Betts, Alice Felgate, Miller Henderson and Joshua McGuire.

Director Simon Hynd
Producers: Mark Kinsella, Angela Sinden, Jimmy Mulville, Helen Williams
Writer: Steve Turner
Format: PAL
Region: Region 2
DVD Release Date: 6 Jan 2014

UK TV Gold Channel at 9pm
Gold is a channel packed with the best of British comedy and sitcoms. Sky 110 Virgin 126.
Broadcast: Wed 23rd October 2013 - Wed 27th November 2013
Series: 1
Episodes: 6

Highly entertaining comedy about a chaotic family



~~~~~

Reviews


Richard II Review
By D J Forrest


On the 13th November, 2013, I attended my first ever Shakespeare Play, that was being broadcast LIVE from the RSC to local cinemas everywhere including my town.  It was fully booked, every seat taken, and oh so very warm.  It was a night to be educated and 

Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews


‘Pressure Pad’ Review
By Mickie and Patricia Newton-Carline


Pressure Pad is a new week day afternoon BBC game show hosted by Torchwood’s very own John Barrowman. There are 25 episodes in all to be shown over 5 weeks. This isn’t John’s first outing hosting a game show as he hosted the BBC children’s game show ‘The Movie game’ back in the 90’s. But it is most certainly his first adult game show. So what is Pressure Pad?

Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews

Fanvideo Review



Hello.  I'm Doctor Owen Harper and I'm here to tell you about Weevil Capture Safety Protocols.

No, I'm joking.  Come in and sit down, you're letting a draft in.

November has been a busy month around here.  We've had quite a lot to deal with, really.  I'm rather busy at the moment, as you can see.  Jack's got me doing inventory for not just the medical supplies but for the general office nonsense as well.  That's not my job, it's Ianto's or maybe Tosh's.  But that's not what you're interested in.  I can tell.  Your eyes just glazed over.

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews




TORCHWOOD
THE ENCYCLOPEDIA
THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO THE HIT TV SERIES
by Gary Russell
Published by BBC Books in 2009
Reviewed by Mickie Newton
aka Toshiko

When thinking of what I should review with regards to Gary Russell’s books I did think of Gary’s novel, ‘Twilights Streets,’ but the Encyclopedia seemed the most logical as it has become a kind of bible during my writing of my monthly column ‘Gadgets & Gizmos’.  In fact I would go as far as saying it has been a bible to most of the writers of Project: Torchwood.

This book covers three series of Torchwood and also covers four of the radio plays made for BBC Radio 4. In this tome you will encounter various gadgets, locations, episodes, aliens and people, be they main characters or those you see but for a fleeting moment, even The Doctor is mentioned and he’s not seen at all in Torchwood. The closest you get is hearing the sound of the TARDIS landing with its brakes on.

Read More Here



~~~~~

Reviews


Fanvideo Review



Hello.  Doctor Owen Harper, maybe at your service.  Come on in.    

I hope October has been a good month for you.  It's always an interesting time at the Hub.  Sometimes, we get cranks and fakes and have a good laugh about being spooked by rubber masks.  Currently, there's someone running around Cardiff pretending to be a Weevil.  We know it's a fake because of the zip in the back.

Gotcha.

So, it's time to do the fanvideo reviews again.  This seems to be my monthly task, above and beyond the call of duty. 

Don't say I didn't warn you.

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews



  




Torchwood: Exodus Code

Reviewed by D.J. Forrest
Written by John & Carole Barrowman
Hardback novel published in 2012 by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07907-8


     Jack’s head weighed a ton on his neck, his eyes wouldn’t stop watering, and every nerve in his skin was on fire.  Was he dreaming?  Even his hair seemed to hurt.  ‘I’ll do...some...some investigating, Renso.  I’ll return when I know more.’
   ‘I don’t know, amigo,’ said Renso, glancing at Jack, holding his stare for a beat. ‘Perhaps this isn’t a place you should ever return to.’
   ‘Why not?’
   ‘You look like shit.’


Read More Here



~~~~~




Reviews

Fanvid Reviews
by Echo Fain

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood: Hidden
By DJ Forrest


~~~~~

Reviews


The Undertaker’s Gift 
by DJ Forrest

Read More Here

~~~~~
Reviews


The Men Who Sold the World

By DJ Forrest

~~~~~
Reviews



The House That Jack Built
By Mickie Newton




~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood: The Bay of the Dead 
by Mickie Newton

Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews


Fanvid Reviews

Read More Here


~~~~~
Reviews

Another Life

By Dawn Christoffersen
Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood - Army of One

Read More Here
~~~~~
Reviews

The Mind’s Eye 
Reviewed by Kirsty Price
Read More Here


~~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood: Almost Perfect

Read More Here
~~~~~
Reviews

Mr Invincible
By DJ Forrest

Read More Here
~~~~~


Reviews
Ghost Train written by James Goss


Reviews

The Baby Farmers 
by DJ Forrest 




~~~~~
Reviews

Sarah Pinborough – Kaleidoscope
by Steve Taylor-Bryant
TheCultDen

Read More Here


~~~~~
Reviews

The Wrong Hands by Andrew Cartmel

Reviewed by DJ Forrest



~~~~~
Reviews

Virus by James Moran 

reviewed by Dawn Christoffersen.




~~~~~
Reviews

Consequences 

by DJ Forrest

Read More Here

~~~~~

Reviews



Red Skies by Steve Taylor-Bryant

Praise be to Torchwood.

~~~~~
Reviews


Lost Souls by Steve Taylor-Bryant

Read More Here


~~~~~
Reviews


In The Shadows

by Echo Fain 


No comments:

Post a Comment